Rotherham Central Station shortlisted for National Transport Award


  • Rotherham Central Station shortlisted for Rail Station of the Year in prestigious National Transport Awards
  • Award recognises £8.5m redevelopment of the station, applauded by then-Secretary of State for Transport Justine Greening

 Rotherham Central Station has been shortlisted for Rail Station of the Year in the prestigious National Transport Awards, celebrating innovation and excellence across the public transport sector.

The extensive £8.5 million redevelopment of Rotherham Central Station, opened to the public in February 2012, was led by South Yorkshire Passenger Transport Executive (SYPTE) together with the Department for Transport, Network Rail, Northern Rail, and Rotherham Metropolitan Borough Council.

Forming part of the Rotherham Renaissance scheme, the new station has improved customer facilities for passenger comfort and access. It delivers an attractive new gateway to the town and features a distinctive new curving roof, new lighting, CCTV, a new waiting room, passenger information screens, a ticket office and retail kiosk. Disabled access to the station, which has around half a million visitors each year, has also been improved with the introduction of a lift facility.

The number of customers using Rotherham Central Station has increased since the works were completed, with patronage increasing above the level of that at other stations in South Yorkshire.

Then-Secretary of State for Transport Justine Greening applauded the ‘real benefits for passengers and the wider community’ that Rotherham Central Station will deliver when she unveiled a plaque marking the opening of the station in July 2012, saying: “It will boost competitiveness, stimulate the local economy and showcase Rotherham as a vibrant town with many exciting opportunities for new businesses.”

Richard Allan, Northern Rail Area Director, said: “We are committed to realising the true potential of local rail as the most sustainable means of connecting people to opportunities. Modern station facilities are one element of encouraging more people to travel by rail. This project has transformed the station environment and facilities, which the local community can rightly be proud of.”

In addition to Rotherham Central Station, SYPTE also celebrates being shortlisted for the Integrated Transport Authority of the Year category of the National Transport Awards, recognising a year of significant success for the organisation. SYPTE has brought major projects to fruition that includes progressing plans for Tram-Train, Bus Rapid Transit, Smart ticketing, High Speed Rail and establishing with our Partners the Sheffield Bus Partnership.

The organisation has a track record of successful delivery, having secured more than £120 million worth of external funding last year to bring forward schemes to unlock economic growth and improve the region’s public transport network. By working closely with partners it continues to identify, develop and deliver key multi-modal strategic priorities at a local and national level.

David Young, SYPTE Deputy Interim Director General, said: “It has so far been a year of huge progress for SYPTE across the whole county of South Yorkshire and I am delighted that this hard work has been recognised at the National Transport Awards. These achievements have been made against a backdrop of budget savings and cost reductions in the PTE and this is a real testament to the dedication of staff and partners working together in South Yorkshire.   

“SYPTE is, and will continue to be, committed to understanding and responding to customer needs. Through the success of our partnership work on key public transport projects, we are setting a clear course towards an efficient, affordable and improved public transport network and further prosperity for South Yorkshire and the wider region.”

The National Transport Awards 2013 are organised by Transport Times and supported by the Department for Transport (DfT) and Passenger Focus. The awards will be presented on 17 October with key note speaker, DfT Secretary of State for Transport, Rt Hon Patrick McLoughlin MP.