Our Governance

South Yorkshire Passenger Transport Executive (SYPTE) is responsible for delivering the operational public transport elements of the region’s public transport strategy, as directed by Sheffield City Region Combined Authority (SCRCA) and within the budget set by the SCRCA.

For transport the SCRCA represents the four local authorities of South Yorkshire; Barnsley, Doncaster, Rotherham, and Sheffield. It sets strategic priorities, and allocates budget, for public transport across the region. This activity is overseen by the Thematic Transport Board. 

The Thematic Transport Board is made up of an elected member from each of the local authorities in South Yorkshire and one representing all of the non-constituent local authorities (Bassetlaw, North East Derbyshire, Derbyshire Dales, Bolsover and Chesterfield), the Sheffield City Region (SCR) Mayor (as Chair), SYPTE’s Executive Director and SCR’s Director of Transport, Infrastructure and Housing. This Board discusses and make decisions on the transport capital programme (including Transforming Cities funding), concessions, SYPTE’s performance/delivery, and advise the SCRCA on strategic issues e.g. bus operations, active travel and the future of the tramway. 

SYPTE is a delivery body, making operational decisions and maintaining oversight of South Yorkshire’s public transport network, in line with the SCRCA transport strategy.      

Read SYPTE's Local Code of Corporate Governance and Evidence of Compliance.